HCV Virtual Cascade of Care Cohort (VCCC)

Research shows that a large number of individuals infected with HCV do not receive treatment, even though HCV is a curable disease. The goal of the VCCC study is to understand why and determine what can be done to improve access to health care for people who use injection drugs (PWID).

The Virtual Cascade of Care Cohort (VCCC) study is an innovative multi-centre observational prospective cohort study combining in-person data collection with administrative data linkage to efficiently document and analyze the HCV cascade of care among vulnerable populations of former or current people who inject drugs. By considering how PWID with differing markers of vulnerability navigate the HCV cascade of care, this study will guide tailored interventions and inclusive policies that ensure all PWID living with HCV access treatment.

Our Goal

Our goal is to build a better understanding of the extent to which PWID across Canada are engaged in HCV care, and how this relates to broader patterns of service use and life circumstances.

Feasibility Study

The VCCC feasibility study was funded by the Canadian Network on Hepatitis C (CanhepC). Pilot projects were conducted in Quebec and Saskatchewan, in partnership with the University of Saskatchewan.

Five Community Partners participated in the Quebec study:

0
Participants recruited in Quebec
0
Participants recruited in Saskatchewan

TESTIMONIALS

Through the protocol, participants had the opportunity to express themselves and share their experiences with the health care system. The information collected through the VCCC will be used to improve and better adapt the services offered to the community.

“The questionnaire is not complicated and I felt heard.” – Participant

“I did not feel judged. I’m glad someone has the initiative to do this type of study.” – Participant

Some Preliminary Data from the Quebec Feasibility Study

For further information about the VCCC study, please contact Stine Hoj at stine.hoj@umontreal.ca.

Start typing and press Enter to search

COHORTE VIRTUELLE DE CASCADE DE SOINS (VCCC)

Les recherches démontrent qu’un grand nombre d’individus infectés par le VHC ne reçoivent pas de traitement, même si le VHC est une maladie curable. L’étude VCCC vise à comprendre le pourquoi et déterminer ce qui peut être fait pour améliorer l’accès des personnes utilisatrices de drogues injectables (PUDI) aux soins de santé.

L’étude VCCC est une étude de cohorte observationnelle, prospective et multicentrique combinant la collecte de données en personne avec un couplage de données administratives pour documenter et analyser la cascade de soins du virus de l’hépatite C (VHC) parmi des personnes utilisatrices de drogues injectables. L’étude vise à mieux comprendre comment mobiliser des ressources pour surmonter les obstacles aux soins et au traitement de l’hépatite C, afin de réduire le fardeau de l’infection et d’améliorer les résultats de santé globaux chez les populations vulnérables.

Notre objectif

Notre objectif est de mieux comprendre la mesure dans laquelle les PUDI à travers le Canada sont engagées dans les soins du VHC, et comment cela se rapporte aux modèles plus larges d’utilisation des services et aux circonstances de la vie.

L’étude de faisabilité

L’étude de faisabilité de l’étude VCCC a été financée par le Réseau Canadien sur l’Hépatite C (CanhepC). Les projets pilotes ont été conduits au Québec et en Saskatchewan, en partenariat avec l’Université de Saskatchewan.

Cinq partenaires communautaires ont participé à l’étude au Québec :

0
Participants recrutés au Québec
0
Participants recrutés en Saskatchewan

TÉMOIGNAGES

À travers le protocole, les participants ont eu l’opportunité de s’exprimer et de partager leurs expériences liées avec le système de santé. L’information recueillie dans le cadre du projet VCCC sera utilisée afin d’améliorer et de mieux adapter les services offerts à la communauté.

« Le questionnaire est facile et je me suis senti écouté. »

« Je ne me suis pas senti jugé. Je suis heureux que quelqu’un prenne l’initiative de faire ce type d’étude. » – Participants

Quelques données préliminaires de l’étude de faisabilité au Québec

Pour plus d’information au sujet de l’étude VCCC, contactez Stine Hoj à stine.hoj@umontreal.ca 

Commencez à taper et appuyez sur Entrée pour rechercher