logo-cohorte-hepco

The HEPCO Cohort of People Who Inject Psychoactive Substances allows scientists and researchers to better understand the transmission, pathogenesis and treatment of Hepatitis C (HCV) and HIV infections in people who use psychoactive substances. This cohort has accumulated more than 30 years of epidemiological and biological data and is affiliated to the Centre Hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal Research Centre (CRCHUM).

Status: Recruiting participants

Context

Originally, it was designed with the goal of continuously recruiting people who inject psychoactive substances in order to better understand the individual and contextual factors of HIV transmission and to characterize the issues specific to treatment access and its effects. Since 2004, the objectives of the cohort have been revised to include studies on the natural history of HCV infection and re-infection. In 2015, a mental health section was added to study the relationships between mental health problems, including psychiatric diagnoses and mental states, and the transmission of HCV and HIV among people who inject substances.

Objectives

The computerized database and biological samples were set up for the identification and validation of mechanisms from clinical, virological and immunological parameters relevant to transmission, disease progression and immune responses. This bank is also associated with several network projects, and is part of the International Consortium of Prospective Hepatitis C Cohorts (NC3).

Funding

Researchers (epidemiology and public health)

Researchers (basic sciences)

For more information

For further information, contact the HEPCO team at hepco.chum@ssss.gouv.qc.ca.

Here is a timeline representing the early days of the cohort:

Start typing and press Enter to search

logo-cohorte-hepco

La Cohorte HEPCO des personnes qui s’injectent des substances psychoactives (PISP) permet aux scientifiques et aux chercheurs de développer une meilleure compréhension de la transmission, de la pathogénèse et du traitement de l’hépatite C (VHC) et des infections au VIH chez les personnes qui s’injectent des substances psychoactives. La cohorte cumule plus de 30 ans de de données épidémiologiques et biologiques. Elle est affiliée au Centre de recherche du Centre hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal (CRCHUM).

Statut : Recrutement de participants en cours

Contexte

À l’origine, la cohorte a été mise sur pied dans le but de recruter en continu des personnes qui s’injectent des substances psychoactives afin de mieux comprendre les facteurs individuels et contextuels de la transmission du VIH et de caractériser les enjeux propres à l’accès à un traitement et à ses effets. Depuis 2004, les objectifs de la cohorte ont été révisés pour inclure des études sur l’histoire naturelle de l’infection et de la réinfection au VHC. En 2015, un volet santé mentale a été ajouté dans le but d’étudier les relations entre les problèmes de santé mentale, incluant les diagnostics psychiatriques et les états mentaux, et la transmission du VHC et du VIH chez les PISP.

Objectifs

La banque de données informatisées et d’échantillons biologiques a été mise en place pour permettre l’identification et la validation des mécanismes provenant des paramètres cliniques, virologiques et immunologiques pertinents à la transmission, la progression de la maladie et les réponses immunitaires. Cette banque est aussi associée à plusieurs projets du réseau et est intégrée au Consortium international de cohortes prospectives en hépatite C (NC3).

Financement

Chercheurs (Épidémiologie et santé publique)

Chercheurs (Sciences fondamentales)

Pour plus d'information

Pour plus d’information au sujet de la cohorte, contactez l’équipe HEPCO à l’adresse suivante : hepco.chum@ssss.gouv.qc.ca.

Voici une ligne du temps représentant les débuts de la cohorte :

Commencez à taper et appuyez sur Entrée pour rechercher