Quebec-Atlantic Node organizational structure and roles

The Quebec-Atlantic Node has implemented a flexible organizational structure designed to accommodate our large team’s needs for different levels of affiliation, collaboration, and responsibility, and to allow them to interact efficiently in order to accomplish our stated goals.

Node Executive Steering Committee

The Quebec-Atlantic Steering Committee, chaired by Dr. Julie Bruneau and including all Principal Investigators (PI), defines priorities and oversees the development and implementation of the Node’s program and activities. Within this committee, the Atlantic Scientific Delegate has the role of facilitating the communication of the Atlantic’s specific needs and priorities between the steering committee and the Atlantic node members.

Julie Bruneau, MD, MSc CRCHUM – Nominated Principal Investigator ( NPI)
Patricia Conrod, PhD CRCHUM – Steering committee PI
Didier Jutras-Aswad, MD, MSc CRCHUM – Steering committee PI
Janusz Kaczorowski, MA, PhD CRCHUM – Steering committee PI
Gilles Lavigne, DMD, MSc, PhD Université de Montréal – Steering committee PI
Guy-Pierre Levesque Méta d’Âme – Steering committee PI (Principal Knowledge User)
Michel Perreault, PhD Mcgill University – Steering committee PI
Élise Roy, MD, MSc Université de Sherbrooke- Steering committee PI
Sherry Stewart, PhD Dalhousie University – Steering committee PI
Atlantic Scientific Delegate – Chair of the Maritimes Advisory committee
Vacant Public Health Agency – Stakeholder

Node Coordinating core

The Coordinating Core performs the day-to-day and administrative management, coordinates research activities, and facilitates communication within the Node and externally.

Aïssata Sako Research operations and project manager
Jennifer Swansburg Atlantic Project Coordinator
Annie Tremblay Scientific Writer
Alice Lam Research Officer
Valeria Saavedra Communications Logistics Agent

Atlantic Advisory Committee

The Atlantic Advisory Committee, will facilitate communication between the Executive Steering Committee, the Atlantic Scientific Delegate, and node members in the Atlantic region. This committee will translate and transmit priorities unique to the Atlantic, and create links between Quebec, CRISM national and international partners to regional collaborators.

Sherry Stewart Chair
Jennifer Swansburg Atlantic Project Coordinator
Mark Asbridge Committee Member
Linda Courey Committee Member
Selene Etches Committee Member
Cindy MacIsaac Committee Member

Quebec-Atlantic Knowledge Transfer Committee

The Knowledge Transfer Committee has the mandate of facilitating the communication and translation of research results by leading consultation and dissemination activities within and outside the Node and knowledge transfer events such as annual symposium for the node within the node. This committee enhances the Node’s capacity to have a positive and sustainable impact on service provision, clinical practices, and health outcomes for people living with substance misuse.

Quebec-Atlantic Community Advisory Board

The Community Advisory Board is a virtual roster of experts and knowledge users providing advice and guidance to the Steering Committee and giving them access to a versatile group from which to pull expertise based on specific needs. The community advisory board meetings are ad hoc, planned yearly based upon the priorities identified, or scheduled on the heels of substance misuse-related conferences.

National Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) consists of a minimum 3 and a maximum of 6 international experts with diverse experience in substance misuse intervention research. SAC recruitment will be coordinated by the Nominated Principal Investigators (NPIs) of the CRISM network.

Wim van den Brink University of Amsterdam
Todd Korthuis Oregon Health & Sciences University
Barbara Broers Geneva University Hospitals
Mark Asbridge Committee Member
Edward Nunes Columbia University Medical Center
Jeffrey Samet Boston University

Start typing and press Enter to search